Home General Wafula Chebukati to lead Kenya to August elections

Wafula Chebukati to lead Kenya to August elections


Parliament has approved a new team that will lead Kenya to August elections.
Parliament’s Legal Affairs Committee has approved the nomination of Wafula Chebukati and six other commissioners to fill the gap left by Issack Hassan and his team.
Questions had been raised over Chebukati’s credibility as IEBC chair following discoveries that he was an active ODM member for 10 years and had even vied for a political seat.
During his vetting last week, Chebukati however told MPs that he had already resigned from ODM and promised to ensure a free and fair election come August 8.
While endorsing his nomination, the MPs said that Chebukati had met the requisite qualifications and they were satisfied with the current team. represents the face of Kenya as it had representatives from all regions.
“The team has members from across the country. It represents the face of Kenya,” said a member of the Legal Affairs Committee.
The six others who have also been nominated to the commission are Paul Kurgat, Consolata Bucha, Margaret Mwachanya, Boya Molu, Roselyn Akombe and Abdi Guliye.
In a special sitting held Tuesday, the MPs also approved the nomination of former Anglican Archbishop, Eliud Wabukala as the new EACC boss.

Previous articleMeshack Yebei's widow attacked at her Langas home
Next articlePanic as Isiolo North MP collapses in Parliament
Linguistics graduate and seasoned online journalist, researcher, content manager and SEO analyst.