Home SGR Booking What is the SGR train schedule

What is the SGR train schedule


SGR train schedule for the morning intercounty and evening Madaraka Express trains in Kenya

If you want to use the SGR to travel from Nairobi to Mombasa or Mombasa to Nairobi, it is important to know the available trains and their schedules.

There are two passenger trains from Nairobi to Mombasa and two from Mombasa to Nairobi that operate at different times every day.

What are the available SGR passenger trains?

The following are the daily passenger trains operating between Nairobi and Mombasa and their numbers:

N1 – The County train from Mombasa to Nairobi

E1– The Express train from Mombasa to Nairobi

N2 – The County train from Nairobi to Mombasa

E2 – The Express train from Nairobi to Mombasa

Read Also: SGR ticket booking options

What time does my train leave?

There are two trains operating from Nairobi and Mombasa. One leaves in the morning and the other in the afternoon. It is important to know what type of train you are booking, and the time it departs.

There are the Express and intercounty trains from each of the two cities. If you want to board or alight midway, you need to book the intercounty train.

Inter-County trains departure time

N1 and N2 make stopovers in Mariakani, Miasenyi, Voi, Mtito Andei, Kibwezi, Emali, and Athi River. N1 leaves Mombasa at 8:00 am every morning while N2 leaves Nairobi at 8:20 every day.

Madaraka Express trains departure time

E1 and E2 make only one stop in either Nairobi or Mombasa. The departure time for E1 is 15:15 in the evening while E2 train leaves Nairobi at 14:35 in the afternoon.

What time does the SGR train arrive?

The arrival time of your SGR train depends on your departure point and destination.

N1 schedule (Intercounty SGR train from Mombasa to Nairobi)

If you are traveling from Mombasa using the inter-county train, you will arrive at the following times depending on your destination:

Mombasa to Mariakani – 8:00 am to 8:24 am

Mariakani to Miasenyi – 8:27 am to 9:09 am

Miasenyi to Voi – 9:12 am to 9:43 am

Voi to Mtito Andei – 9:47 am to 10:52 am

Mtito Andei to Kibwezi – 10:56 am to 11:25 am

Kibwezi to Emali – 11:28 am to 12:09 pm

Emali to Athi River – 12:12 pm to 13:16 pm

Athi River to Nairobi – 13:19 pm to 13:42 pm

Mombasa to Nairobi – 8:00 am to 13:42 pm.

Read Also: SGR ticket cancellation during COVID

N2 SGR train schedule (Intercounty train from Nairobi to Mombasa)

Nairobi to Athi River – 8:20 am – 8:40 am

Athi River to Emali – 8:43 am – 9:47 am

Emali to Kibwezi – 9:51 am – 10:32 am

Kibwezi to Mtito Andei – 10:35 am – 11:20 am

Mtito Andei to Voi – 11:24 am – 12:29 pm

Voi to Miasenyi – 12:33 pm – 13:04 pm

Miasenyi to Mariakani – 13:07 pm – 13:49 pm

Mariakani to Mombasa – 13:52 pm – 14:18 pm

Nairobi to Mombasa – 8:20 am – 14:18 pm

Madaraka Express arrival time

E1 Madaraka Express leaves Mombasa at 15:15 pm and arrives at the Syokimau terminal in Nairobi at 20:14 pm, while E2 leaves Nairobi at 14:35 pm and arrives at the Miritini terminal in Mombasa at 19:18 pm.

Getting late? Find affordable accommodation in hotels near the SGR terminal below:

Previous articleWhat happens if I lose my SGR ticket?
Next articleSouthfield shopping mall: Death trap for mega supermarkets?
Linguistics graduate and seasoned online journalist, researcher, content manager and SEO analyst.